EFCC | Leadership

Profile of Former and Current Chairmen
Ibrahim Lamorde

Ibrahim Lamorde, DIG (rtd.)

Executive Chairman, EFCC (2012 - 2015)


Ibrahim Lamorde, the third Executive Chairman of the Commission, is a retired Deputy Inspector General of Police who was appointed in acting capacity as Chairman of the Commission on November 23, 2011 following the removal of Farida Waziri by President Goodluck Jonathan. He was confirmed as the third substantive Chairman of the Commission by the Senate on February 15, 2012. Lamorde, who was born on December 20, 1962 in Mubi, Adamawa State, attended Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, graduating with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Sociology in 1984. He joined the Nigerian Police Force in 1986.

When the EFCC was created in 2003, Lamorde was made the pioneer Director of Operations. In December 2007, he took over as Acting Chairman in January 2008, holding the position until Waziri was appointed Chairperson and confirmed by the Senate in June 2008. In December 2010 Lamorde returned to the EFCC, again as Director of Operations to replace Stephen Otitoju, the then Acting Director of Operations.

When Waziri was replaced on November 23, 2011, Lamorde, then an Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP), was again appointed Acting Chairman. He was confirmed as substantive Chairman of the EFCC on February 15, 2012, a position he held till November 9, 2015, when President Buhari replaced him with Ibrahim Magu as the EFCC Chairman in acting capacity.